Saturday 22 June 2019 at 7:30pm
  Date:  Saturday 22 June 2019
  Time: 7:30pm
  Venue:  St Matthew’s Church, Kettering Road, Northampton, NN1 4RY
Tickets:  £16.00   Full Price
  £14.00   Concessions
  £5.00   Students
    Tickets are available to purchase online using a Credit/Debit card. Clicking the ticket below will take you to our booking partner's website.
  Ticket Information: For more information about seating at our principle venue and obtaining tickets, please see our ticket information page.

Additional Information:
St Matthew's Church is wheelchair accessible and there is a toilet suitable for all mobility needs in the Church. There is plenty of on-street parking around the church, but please allow sufficient time to park your car.

If you have any other queries regarding the concert please contact us.
  Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for changed circumstances which may necessitate the substitution of artists or changes to the programme.
Previous Concert
Next Concert
The Grande Messe des morts (or Requiem) by Hector Berlioz was composed in 1837. Lasting just under ninety minutes, the work was designed for performance in massive concert halls with Berlioz scaling up the performers to fit - he suggested that alongside 80 sopranos and altos there ought to be 60 tenors and 70 basses! Our performance is given in a new edition by our Musical Director, designed specifically for the spaces of St Matthew’s Church. Alongside the choir (of our own proportions!), tenor soloist, and orchestra, you will hear all sixteen timpani and four brass ensembles - one in each corner of the building. In the words of Guy Dammann: "If your sense of awe lacks an existential dimension, Berlioz's great Requiem will restore it. Being enveloped by the omnidirectional swell of sound at the onset of the Tuba Mirum, or dangled on the yo-yo of hope and despair that the Lacrimosa spins with such masterful theatricality, are not experiences one forgets."


Northampton Bach Choir
Orchestra da Camera

Conductor -
Lee Dunleavy
Tenor -
Ben Thapa