Ein deutsches Requiem
Saturday 23 November 2019 at 7:30pm
  Date:  Saturday 23 November 2019
  Time: 7:30pm
  Venue:  St Matthew’s Church, Kettering Road, Northampton, NN1 4RY
Tickets:  TBA    
    Tickets will be available to purchase online using a Credit/Debit card.
  Ticket Information: For more information about seating at our principle venue and obtaining tickets, please see our ticket information page.

Additional Information:
St Matthew's Church is wheelchair accessible and there is a toilet suitable for all mobility needs in the Church. There is plenty of on-street parking around the church, but please allow sufficient time to park your car.

If you have any other queries regarding the concert please contact us.
  Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for changed circumstances which may necessitate the substitution of artists or changes to the programme.
Previous Concert
Brahms’s masterpiece is called a ‘German' Requiem because Brahms set texts from the Lutheran Bible, rather than the more commonly used liturgical Latin text of the Mass for the Dead. This was his first major success, the soprano solo adding remarkable tenderness and sorrow, feelings prompted by the death of his mother in 1865. This performance of Ein Deutsches Requiem (1865-68) will be sung in the original German, and will be our first opportunity to utilise the new grand piano in St Matthew’s Church, the purchase of which we helped to fund. Brahms himself arranged the work for soprano and baritone soloists, choir, and piano duet. To put Brahms’s masterpiece in context, we will hear music which inspired him - Bach’s Passacaglia in C minor, originally for organ solo, but arranged by Max Reger for piano duet - and music which was inspired by him - Reger’s Requiem (again, not a setting of the Latin text, but of a short poem by Friedrich Hebbel.


Northampton Bach Choir

Conductor -
Lee Dunleavy
Soprano -
Rebecca Bottone
Baritone - Gwion Thomas

Requiem, op. 144b (1915) - Max Reger (1873-1916)
arranged by the composer for piano duet, baritone soloist, and chorus

Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 582 (ca. 1707-13) - J. S. Bach (1685-1750).
arranged by Max Reger for piano duet


Ein deutsches Requiem, op. 45 (1865-68) - Johannes Brahms (1833-97)
arranged by the composer for piano duet, soprano and baritone soloists, and chorus