Missa solemnis
Saturday 28 March 2020 at 7:30pm
  Date:  Saturday 28 March 2020
  Time: 7:30pm
  Venue:  St Matthew’s Church, Kettering Road, Northampton, NN1 4RY
Tickets:  £16.00   Full Price
  £14.00   Concessions
  £5.00   Students
    Tickets are available to purchase online using a Credit/Debit card. Clicking the ticket below will take you to our booking partner's website.
    Tickets will be available to purchase online using a Credit/Debit card.
  Ticket Information: For more information about seating at our principle venue and obtaining tickets, please see our ticket information page.

Additional Information:
St Matthew's Church is wheelchair accessible and there is a toilet suitable for all mobility needs in the Church. There is plenty of on-street parking around the church, but please allow sufficient time to park your car.

If you have any other queries regarding the concert please contact us.
  Disclaimer: We endeavour to supply full and accurate information but cannot be held responsible for changed circumstances which may necessitate the substitution of artists or changes to the programme.
Previous Concert
Next Concert
To mark the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven, the choir and joined by four virtuoso soloists and orchestra to perform his undisputed masterpiece - the Missa solemnis (1819-23). Beethoven composed the Missa Solemnis for the enthronement of his great friend and pupil Archduke Rudolph as Archbishop of Olmütz – completing it three years after the enthronement ceremony. There is nevertheless a theatricality to the work that has led many commentators to suggest that it is more appropriate to the concert hall than the church. With four soloists and a choir, some have even suggested it should be regarded more as a short opera than anything else. A modern critic wrote: To those for whom Beethoven’s music is an important reason for living, the Missa Solemnis belongs at the centre of their experience – a work to respect, certainly, but still more to love. Indeed, Beethoven wrote these words on the manuscript: From the heart - may it return to the heart.


Missa solemnis - Ludwig van Beethoven (1712-73)

Northampton Bach Choir
Orchestra da Camera

Soprano - Susanna Fairbairn
Mezzo-soprano -
Margaret McDonald
Tenor -
Christopher Steele
Bass -
Brian Bannatyne-Scott

Conductor -
Lee Dunleavy